top of page

Race Weekend Recap: Run Richmond

I spent #MyVAweekend Running Richmond.

I made my way to RVA for the Anthem Richmond Marathon, American Family Fitness Half Marathon and HCA Va 8K. I signed up for the 8K while many of my friends ran the half; my school and work schedule got in the way of me having enough time to train for 13.1.

The race expo was a fun expereince as I had never been to one before. Held at the Arthur Ashe Junior Athletic Center, there was a sizable crowd of eager and excited runners buzzing around the different stations. Regardless of what race we were running, every participant got a reusuable tote, long sleeve "tech tee" and a free beer upon finishing the race (if 21+).

The 8K started at 7 a.m., the first event of the day. There were over 2,000 runners in the race and everyone tried to stay warm as the sun had not yet risen. I have never expereinced so much energy and positivity at a start line before (this was also my first big scale race, I usually run more local events). Upbeat music was blaring, the emcee was pumping everyone up and the volunteers were radiating excitement. It was standing with my wave waiting to run that I knew the event was going to be awesome.

The race course was mostly flat and had only a few turns. In the final stretch, we were greeted by a live band and an awesome downhill stretch leading to the finish line at Brown's Island (every race distance had the same finish route).

The last mile got louder and louder which made a great welcome to the finish line party. Upon crossing the line, we were given our medal and a water in the well organized finisher chute that led to the post race party.

Additionally, half and full marathon finishers got a complimentary fleece blanket and Anthem Richmond Marathon/American Family Ftienss Half Marathon running cap at the finish chute.

I was expecting a really fun event (after all, they are self proclaimed "America's Friendliest Marathon") and an easy 8K run. My expereince was that and more- the start line energy made me feel alive and awake at 6:45 a.m. and motivated me to run my best (I PR'd). The spectators along the route were sparse, probably because the 8K is not as major of an event as a half or full marathon. The finish line and post-race party were great fun. Come the half and full marathon, spectators and supporters were in full force with signs, cowbells and motivational words of support. It was amazing to watch everyone from the elites to 8K first timers cross that finish line.

I highly recommend this race weekend. There are plenty of distance options that allow you to enjoy the race at varying intensity levels. You can signup for next year's event on November 12, 2016 here! There was a great variety of ages and runner abilities. I saw dozens of JMU Dukes running as well as Virginia Tech Hokies. This event was impecably organized and executed,r esulting in an epic race day atmospere from start to finish.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page